Cream of Asparagus Soup, Paleo

20161022_205314-1.jpgWe recently went through all our old books and either boxed them up or purged them. One of the areas purged was our cook book collection.  I had a full shelf of cookbooks from my mother, Sunset, Better Homes, etc. I only used a select few of those, and only 1 or two had sentimental value. My husband had his own shelf of cookbooks that he inherited as well. So we narrowed down our collections and have now only 1 shelf of cookbooks that we plan to keep for our homestead.

Over the weekend I went shopping and I picked up some asparagus to make some Cream of Asparagus soup. I wanted to make it paleo of course so when I was sitting with my husband, I whipped out my phone and said, “I need to look up a paleo cream soup.”

He reminded me about all our cookbooks and ask, “Can’t you find a recipe in there and just modify it?” To be honest, I have all of these cookbooks, but still rarely use them because the internet is so easy. So off we went to peruse the books and find a cream soup recipe. We found more than we bargained for. Most were relatively the same, and many just started off with a cream soup base and you could add a variety of different vegetables as desired.

For inspiration, I used the Culinary Arts Institute Encyclopedic Cookbook (a complete wealth of cooking knowledge and recipes, IMO), Ida Bailey Allen’s Pressure Cooking (1947), Ida Bailey Allen’s Money Saving Cookbook – Eating for Victory (1942).

I replaced the milk in the recipes with canned coconut milk/cream, (Thai Kitchen has become my favorite brand due to its consistency like whipped cream), and used homemade bone broth for the stock. Some recipes called for stock, but some didn’t. The ones that didn’t called for cooking your veggies in water and then throwing out the water to add milk, or just using water and milk instead of broth. I find that the value in bone broth is so awesome it needs to be in just about everything.

I also added more spices than is usually called for. The recipes all asked for basically just salt and pepper. I added Marjoram, because I usually include some in my dishes. Marjoram has great digestive benefits as well as many other health benefits.

Aside from cream soups, I came across several recipes I will need to try in the future.

Enough on all that, I am pleased to announce a paleo recipe I created myself.

Paleo Cream of Asparagus Soup

  • Servings: 4
  • Time: 1 hr
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Ingredients

  • 1 lbs Asparagus, cut in 1 inch sections (or vegetable of choice)
  • 1 Celery Stalk (optional)
  • 2 cups Bone Broth
  • 1 can Coconut Milk
  • 1/2 tsp Marjoram
  • Dash Garlic Powder
  • Salt and White Pepper to taste

Directions

  1. In Medium Saucepan, add broth and cut vegetables. Cook till tender.
  2. Remove to blender or food processor, most of vegetables and some broth. Process till smooth.
  3. Add vegetable puree back to broth and add coconut milk and spices.
  4. Simmer, stirring frequently, for 15 minutes to blend flavors.

You can substitute many vegetables in this recipe or combine two if you have small amounts if each: Broccoli, Cauliflower, Celery, Brussels Sprouts, Cabbage, Carrots. Get creative.

Please let me know what you think of this recipe, or if you try any of the variations, in the comments below.

Leave a Reply

