September Top Posts!

Getting back in the swing! Glad you are enjoying my writing.

Alternative Heating Solutions - In our current setting in California's central valley area, I am not terribly worried about freezing to death, but more about being comfortable. When we move to the homestead however, freezing could be a real issue. Because of this, I am always interested in alternative methods of keeping warm when you have no electricity.
Fermentation vs Pickling - When I first started pickling foods, I knew there were methods that didn’t use store bought vinegar. After all, I had fermented foods in my organic chemistry class. We made alcohol, sauerkraut, and root beer. So… More
Orchard – Almonds - “I said to the almond tree, ‘Sister, speak to me of God.’ And the almond tree blossomed.” ― Nikos Kazantzakis, Report to Greco Why Almonds? Almonds may very well be one of the healthiest and… More
Canning Green Beans - Green beans are some of the easier things we have grown in our home garden. Being able to put food up for after season use is very important to us. Canning is the best way… More
Property Updates – 9/3-5/16 - Spent some time at the property again! Yay! Got a late start on Saturday, so we didn’t get much accomplished. Angelica got to do some exploring, and she took many of the photos in this post.

Feel free to let me know in the comments, if there is anything you would like me to cover or if you have any questions! 🙂

Leave a Reply

