Paleo Spiced Nuts

So I talked on another post about how my husband tries to take food with him over the road (On the Road Trucker Food) and one of my readers suggested making some spiced nuts. I was inspired by this idea, so before he left for his next trip I made some. Boy were they good!

Once again I searched the internet for a recipe that sounded good and I found one on the Food Network. By changing one simple ingredient I was able to once again turn this recipe into a yummy paleo snack.

Ingredients

  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cumin
  • 1/2 teaspoon cayenne pepper
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 4 cups unsalted mixed nuts, such as walnuts, pecans, hazelnuts, and almonds
  • 4 tablespoons unsalted butter, ghee, or coconut oil
  • 6 tablespoons coconut sugar
  • 1 teaspoon salt

Directions

20160627_203917-1.jpg Mix spices, sugar, and salt and reserve.
20160627_203701-1.jpg Heat the nuts in a dry skillet, stirring frequently, until they begin to toast, about 4 minutes.
 20160627_204126-1.jpg Add the butter and cook, stirring, until the nuts begin to darken, about 1 minute.
 20160627_204202-1.jpg20160627_204212-1.jpg Add the spices mixture and 1 tablespoon water and cook, stirring, until the sauce thickens and the nuts are glazed, about 5 minutes. Be careful not to scorch.
 20160627_204252-1.jpg Remove the nuts from the heat and transfer to a baking sheet to let cool, about 10 minutes.

Store in an airtight container.

I would imagine that coconut flakes, or the addition of sunflower seeds or pine nuts would also be good with this mixture. Toss in toward the end to avoid over cooking them.

20160627_202714-1-1.jpgI used 2 cups almonds and 2 cups pecans for this recipe. I packed the finished product into half cup servings in baggies for Michael to take on the road. I even packed some for my lunches. They were very tasty and a nice alternative to the raw nuts I was eating.

Each 1/2 cup has approximately 393 calories and 7 grams of protein.

 

2 thoughts on “Paleo Spiced Nuts

Leave a Reply

