Paleo Spicy Cucumber Salad With Almonds

A while back I discovered this lovely Cucumber Peanut Salad Recipe from 101 Cookbooks. It was a huge hit with the family and I get requests for it at parties. One problem.. It’s not paleo. Sure, I could fudge it and just eat the peanuts… and it is just a TINY amount of table sugar, right? What’s the harm, eh?

Probably not much, and I have eaten peanuts while on paleo before, but the sugar is a HUGE no-no for me. I don’t trust myself with any of it. And it is so easy to update this recipe to be paleo compliant, I can’t really see why I wouldn’t.

So here is my updated paleo version of my favorite cucumber salad.

Ingredients

3 medium cucumbers, partially peeled
1-2 green serrano chiles, stemmed and minced
1/2 cup chopped almonds, toasted
1/3 cup dried coconut, toasted
2 tablespoons fresh lemon juice
1 teaspoon coconut sugar (or honey, maple syrup, feel free to play with it)
1 tablespoon, ghee, clarified butter, or sunflower oil, or coconut oil
1/2 teaspoon black mustard seeds
1/4 teaspoon cumin seeds
scant 1/2 teaspoon fine grain sea salt
a handful cilantro, chopped (optional)

Directions

Halve the cucumbers lengthwise, scrape out the seeds, and chop into pieces roughly the size of pencil erasers. Just before you’re ready to serve, transfer to a mixing bowl and toss gently with chiles, peanuts, coconut, lemon juice, and sugar.

Over medium heat melt the ghee in a small skillet. When hot stir in the mustard seeds. They are going to sputter and spit a bit, and when this starts to happen, add the cumin for 15-30 seconds, just long enough to toast the spices. Cover with a lid if needed. Remove from heat, stir in the salt, and immediately stir this into the salad. Top with cilantro if desired.

Serves 4.

To recap, all I did was change 2 or 3 ingredients and this recipe is now paleo ready! I really recommend that if you decide to try the paleo lifestyle, don’t give up on your favorite dishes. Find ways to tweak them so they fit your personal needs.

If you have a favorite recipe that you have converted to paleo, or one you would like help converting, please let me know in the comments below.

One thought on “Paleo Spicy Cucumber Salad With Almonds

Leave a Reply

