June’s Top Posts

To all my wonderful readers, here is a recap of what y’all viewed most often in June! 🙂

IMAG0275 Property Struggles – House Placement – The more I look at our property, the more I wish I could just spend all my time there. We have so much to do and so many things that need possible modification in order to make our plans work. Only…
solar-panels-384165_640 Solar Power (Math, Yay!) – Deciding how to power our cabin has been on our minds lately. When deciding where to place our cabin, we had to take into consideration the placement of our solar panels as well.
20160612_233002-1.jpg Canning Weekend! – Growing our own food in our garden is one of the most rewarding experienced. Being able to put that food up so it will last through a winter is the second most rewarding experience. Over the last w…
 wp-1464117886448.jpeg R.I.P. Turkeys – I am sad to inform everyone that we lost 2 of our turkeys recently. You may recall our previous failure at releasing our turkeys into the chicken coop, and the fact that they were able to squeeze t…

 

20160530_212717-1.jpg Sauerkraut Updates – Hello everyone! I am three weeks into my sauerkraut adventure and guess what… my brine was evaporating!
11164784_10205858452996417_1973987032537899404_n Cold Process Soap Making – Below is a copy of a post I wrote for my new friend, Gretchen, over at Swamp Yankee Style! I love her carefree writing style, and all her great DIY projects. Definitely check out her farm’s b…

 

Here’s a bonus for today: 1st Quarter Top 10 Posts

1st Quarter.jpg

I’ve been using WordPress for 3 months now. Thought I would give a shout out to my first quarter on WordPress with our Top 10 Posts, and a grand thank you to all those who have made me feel welcome and keep coming back! 🙂

11125525_10205785472451949_1705051621_o 2 Failed Chicken Coop and Rabbit Keeping – My husband and I have many failed attempts… Just about everything we do, we seem to have to do twice (or 3 times) till we get it right. That’s one of the reasons for this blog, to help …
rice-sacks-283750_1280 How much food can a 5 gal bucket hold? – Michael and I have been working on our long term food storage (LTFS) for over a year now. But keeping track of how much you have on hand, or how much you need to purchase is a struggle. We would fi…
national_geographic_live_prepared_2-Week_Instant_00583-600x800 Storage Food Taste Test – Live Prepared – Michael and I had the luck to come across a huge sale on a brand of food storage we had not heard of before. National Geographic – Live Prepared. Full price for their 72 hour kit ($50) comes …
IMAG0225 Property Updates – Staking Our Claim – Headed back up to the property. We have a lot of work to do this summer to get things moving forward. This was the first time we actually spent the night ON our property! It was pretty cool pitchin…
20160409_153050.jpg Property Updates – Got to spend a weekend at the property!  It was so nice to walk around and envision what things might look like. I am including some photos.
20160416_161934-1.jpg Canning Butter – Michael and I have recently been buying up butter when it was on sale. Last time we canned butter (around 2010) it was $1.50 per pound normal price. The butter we recently purchased was $2.50 per p…
landscape-301874_1280 Orchard Planning – In an orchard there should be enough to eat, enough to lay up, enough to be stolen, and enough to rot on the ground. ~ Samuel Madden There is something inherently satisfying in growing your own sus…
6a00e0099229e8883301bb089fcc6e970d Fruit Walls – I was checking out my google+ and I came across this shared article. It talked about these wonderful things called fruit walls. They were the precursor to the greenhouse and allowed people to exten…
wendyspics072 Composting As a Matter of Survival – I was getting ready to post about my own compost experience when I found this wonderful forum post by a gentleman going by Forerunner at Homesteading Today. I love his writing so much, that I am tr…
20160505_184403-1 small Raising Turkeys – Pasty Butt… WHAT? – I have raised several batches of chickens from babies, even helped hatch one that was abandoned by the mom. And I have NEVER had to deal with the phenomena known as Pasty Butt, until now! Pasty But…

 

If you have a favorite Nysia’s Homestead Journey post, let me know in the comments below! 🙂

One thought on “June’s Top Posts

Leave a Reply

