Acar Ketimun (Indonesian Cucumber Salad)

I have mentioned before that I am first generation American. Both my parents are from Holland (Netherlands), and my mother and my grandfather (her father) were born in Indonesia. Indonesian food was very prominent in my family growing up, as my grandfather did most of the cooking once he was on disability.

I remember my mother telling the story of when they all went as a family to an Indonesian restaurant, and my grandfather got all excited when he tasted the food, so excited that he went to the kitchen and had a long conversation with the cook. It turns out they were from the same province in Indonesia, and he could tell by the taste of the food! 🙂

I know of only one Indonesian restaurant “near” me, and that is in Seattle, WA, USA, so not something I can just skip out to.

Ketimun is a cucumber salad that was almost a staple at our table. Traditionally it is made using the ingredients listed below, and tossed together. It’s better to let is a sit for a while before serving to blend the flavors.

  • 2 small cucumbers, sliced
  • 1⁄2 medium onion, sliced
  • 1⁄2 cup rice vinegar
  • 1 tablespoon oil
  • 1⁄2 tablespoon salt (or to taste)
  • 1 teaspoon pepper (or to taste)
  • 1⁄2 teaspoon sambal oelek (hot chili paste, optional)
  • 1⁄2 tablespoon sugar

20160614_193342.jpgI have experimented with this recipe quite often to get different flavors. You can do this by changing the vinegar, or the oil used. You can also add shredded carrot, or sambal manis, which is sweet hot chili paste. I usually change things up because I didn’t have one, or the other of the ingredients needed.

To make this paleo, I used coconut sugar instead of white sugar, but you could also use honey.

I made this just the other day with fresh cucumber and onion from our garden, balsamic vinegar, coconut sugar and sesame oil. Maybe not traditional, but it does the trick. Yum!!

Have you ever tried Indonesian food? Let me know what you thought in the comments below.

7 thoughts on “Acar Ketimun (Indonesian Cucumber Salad)

  1. Well we share the same background and I too grew up eating Indonesian food as well as sambal. There is one restaurant I know of and its on old Sacramento.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

