Veggie Crust for Pizza

Ok, I know I said I wasn’t going to post a bunch of recipes, but since starting this Paleo diet again I am forced to do allot of cooking. (Imagine that? Fresh food!) And honestly… I am just so darn proud of myself, I had to share.

Let me begin by saying that for those TRUE paleo people, I know cheese isn’t 100% paleo. I am more of an 80/20 style. Fermented foods are ok on my personal list, in moderation (I can’t give up my sourdough completely).

image

I wanted to make something with the little bit of leftover cauliflower I had so I thought…pizza! I was craving pizza on the way home, so why not.

I looked up various cauliflower crust recipes, so I had an idea of what to do but I didn’t have quite enough cauliflower to make them work.

IMPROV!

Yes, I improvised. I had a medium zucchini and a half a bell pepper for good measure. Throw in some cheese, almond flower, eggs, and some spices, and I had one hell of a mess. 🙂

image

I spread it all out as evenly as I could in a stoneware cookie sheet and baked at 400 for 35 minutes. The edges were brown, but the inside was very soft. I lowered the temp to 250 and left for another 10 minutes. It still came out a little softer than I would have liked; not sure how to fix that. I am thinking lower temp longer cook time? Still tasted great with the toppings!

image

Since the crust was mostly veggies, I didn’t see a need to add to much to the toppings. I spread the top with spaghetti sauce. Then I diced one large chicken breast (already cooked), and sliced an avocado on top. Sprinkled with cheese, and voila!

20160602_181646-1-1.jpg

I baked this for about another 15 minutes at 250ºF to warm everything through and melt the cheese.

I was really happy with the flavor!

So here’s the recipe. If you have any suggestions for corrections, additions, variations, please let me know. 🙂

Ingredients

  • Approx 3 cups chopped cauliflower (1/3 head)
  • 1/2 bell pepper
  • 1 med zucchini
  • 1 scant cup almond flour
  • 1/2 cup pecan halves
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 cup shredded cheese
  • 1 tsp minced garlic
  • 1 tsp oregano
  • 1/2 tsp mint

Directions

  1. Process ingredients in food processor using blade attachment.
  2. Spread on cookie sheet
  3. Bake at 350ºF for 40 minutes or until cooked through.

From here you will add whatever toppings you like!

Please post your results, comments, corrections, etc. below!

Leave a Reply

