Paleo Veggie Crunch Salad

So, I have mentioned that I am NOT a foodie. 🙂 I don’t even have foodie quality photos! haha! And I will not be the one to post recipe after recipe, because usually I am fallowing someone else’s recipe anyway. Today is a slight exception however.

I have eaten broccoli crunch salad before and I really wanted to have something similar, but I wanted even MORE bite out of it. I happen to like cauliflower as well, and since Michael doesn’t, I figured I should use it while he is out trucking.

I started eating paleo (again) a few days ago. In fact, this is day 4 eating mostly paleo and I wanted a paleo version of this salad to have for dinner. Here is what I came up with.

I found the dressing recipe and inspiration here.

Ingredients

  • 1 large head of broccoli, chopped (approx 2 cups chopped)
  • ½ small head cauliflower, chopped (approx 2 cups chopped)
  • 1 large carrot, grated
  • 1 apple, cored and finely chopped
  • ¼ cup red onion, finely chopped
  • ½ cup pecans, coarsely chopped
  • ¼ cup dried cranberries
  • ¼ cup sunflower seeds already shelled
  • ¼ cup flax seeds

Ingredients for the dressing

  • 1 cup mayonnaise
  • 2 tbsp. lemon juice
  • 1 garlic clove, minced
  • 1 tsp. raw honey; (optional)
  • Sea salt and freshly ground black pepper

Mix all dressing ingredients. Add all other ingredients and mix thoroughly.

20160531_184030-1.jpg

Hope you enjoy it as much as I am!

If you have any good paleo salad recipes, let me know in the comments below!

Leave a Reply

