My Dutch Oven Cook Table

I can’t even tell you how I came across this gem. I think I was looking up how to cook with a dutch oven and I came across this forum post. The gentleman writing the post had these fabulous pictures of a very sturdy, homemade dutch oven cook table.

hpim0794
Inspiration model of the cook table.

Taking inspiration from his post, my wonderful husband, seeing my excitement, built me my very own version.

He used left over steel and expanded metal sheeting, and welded the entire thing together. He even welded a pot stand to go with it.

It is sturdy enough on it’s own to hold up an anvil on one side without tipping over.

IMAG0190This will be a great addition to our outdoor kitchen on the property.

 

Obviously we could have bought one, but as we say… “We have more time than money!”. Honestly, I prefer mine. It has more surface space and places to store the camp stove and dutch ovens etc.

But if you want to buy one, check the link.Ā Dutch Oven Cook Table

To use a dutch oven cook table is just like using it on the ground only you don’t have to bend and stoop. šŸ™‚

You build a bed of coals and then placing an appropriate number of coals under and on top of your dutch oven, you can cook on it. The table holds your dutch oven and your small coal bed.

d53591d8a1da26bc81c1b781f0450ee4
Shows number of coals needed for various temperatures on different sized dutch ovens.

If you have any good dutch oven recipes, please share in comments below! I will try to use one on our next trip!

 

5 thoughts on “My Dutch Oven Cook Table

    1. I haven’t even got a chance to use it yet. šŸ˜¦ Will do so on our next trip. We will be able to pack real food instead of backpacking food. šŸ™‚ I will definitely post about that.

      Like

    2. HI Steve,

      It just occured to me, were you asking how does it work as in How do you use it? If so, good question, and I will update the post to clarify. Even if that’s not what you meant, Thanks anyway for prompting me to think about that.

      Like

Leave a Reply

