Homemade Laundry Powder

One of the best things that I can do for my family is make as much of the products we use from scratch. I try to keep our household as chemical free as possible, that means making my own household cleaners, toothpaste, and deodorant.

There are many reasons why you might want to make your own detergent rather than use store bought kind. Here is a website that outlines the many harmful chemicals found in commercial brands.

I did quite a bit of research again, and found a recipe for homemade natural laundry detergent I liked and that works for me.

Ingredients:

Picture  Washing soda: “In addition to being an effective cleaner, it is also a natural product; 100% Fragrance & Phosphate Free. It helps neutralize and eliminate odors, not cover them up with perfumes.

Picture

Borax: (Sodium tetraborate (a natural mineral)) As a detergent booster, 20 Mule Team® Borax acts by raising pH levels of water closer to neutral. In other words, Borax softens water.

 

PictureBar Soap: I use my own homemade soap which you can find here. But you can use any natural soap such as Dr. Bonners, or Ivory. Some people will say to use Naptha soap but the smell is really strong in my opinion and I am not convinced that it is a natural soap.

DirectionsPicture

  1. Grate your bar soap using a fine grater.
  2. Measure 2 parts Washing Soda, 2 Parts Borax and 1 Part grated soap and mix together.
  3. use 1/8 – 1/4 cup per load of laundry. I use a little bit more as I have a large capacity washer.

It’s that simple. I use this in my high efficiency washer with no problems.

Leave a comment and let me know what you think, or if you have a different recipe -what is it? 🙂 I’m always looking for better ways to do things. 🙂

Leave a Reply

